Sureman’s Story


by Sureman aka Steve Beauchamp, Shambhala’s longest-running volunteer.

“I first became a DJ in Grade 4, back in 1969 at a lunch hour sock hop where I got two of those  old school record players that folded together, and put on a show with my older sister’s records (The Beatles etc.).

My next DJ experience was in Grade 12. I was in RLVR, LVR’s lunch hour radio and special event music club. I had the Thursday radio show. My goal in life at that point was get a mohawk and become a punk DJ.

Instead, I got a job at CP Rail. I worked there for about 20 years, and then one day, by chance, I went to Shambhala.

There, I met Jimmy, Shambhala’s Producer, and got the chance to play the opening set at the Main Stage (now Pagoda) for the following year’s Shambhala!

I was kinda green, not having DJ’d in quite a while. I had no records and a year to get ready to play the opening set for year 3. I bought records, and I practiced every chance I got.

That spring, I had yet to perform in public. I was in Fernie with some DJ friends for a year end ski party. While I was doing sound check for them with my records, the promotor came up and said he wanted me to headline the event! I was so nervous  just before I went on, I puked!

But despite my nervousness, it went really well.

And so did my set at Shambhala that year. I went on to open and be host of the Main Stage for 6 years. Currently, I’m with the Fractal Forest stage, working as a host.

Thanks to everyone who’s made every Shambhala so special.

See you all on the dancefloor!”

Do you have a Shambhala story you’d like to share? Send it to us, and we may feature it! Email info@shambhalamusicfestival.com!

About Shambhala Music Festival

It's all about the people on the dancefloor.
This entry was posted in Community, From Farmily, Get Involved and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sureman’s Story

  1. whoah this weblog is fantastic i really like studying your articles.

    Keep up the great work! You realize, lots of people are hunting around for
    this information, you could help them greatly.

Leave a Reply

