Shambhala Pre-Show: Week 1


Hello Shambhalovlies! Britz here. I’m typing to you from the Reception/Will Call building on the farm, where I have my temporary office set up.

Right now, Rick, the owner of the farm, is milling wood at the Mill Gate – the same place your tickets will be scanned, and you will pass through as you enter Shambhala in a mere 19-21 days (depending upon what day you’re coming).

Our Site Dec team was out here yesterday. There are big things in store this year. ๐Ÿ™‚ You’ve already seen the previewsโ€ฆbut WOW! They are giving some of our structures a major facelift. It’s looking great.

The quilts are really coming along! I was talking to Sue about them yesterday. The tops are almost done, and they’re headed to Metalline Falls, WA to be quilted. The ladies making them are really excited. The flags from the design are 3D. The tent flaps actaully open and close! The animals have little buttons for eyes. There was a bit of debate about the lasers – some of the ladies thought that the lasers looked blue in Meghan’s design, and wanted blue fabric for that, but Sue insisted that lasers are GREEN – and she would know! ๐Ÿ˜‰ In the end, they settled on translucent, green fabric for the lasers. I’m waiting for some pics of the quilts, and I’ll post a full story about that when I have them. Might even have some finished quilt pics to post, too!

The weather has been mediocre. Monday was hot and sunny, Tuesday was overcast and muggy, yesterday it rained consistently throughout the day (I had to rush to my tent and get a tarp over it around 10am), although we got a small bit of sun as it went down behind the mountain.

We have a great, small crew of volunteers out here this week. ๐Ÿ™‚ They have been fantastic – many of them got kinda soaked in the rain yesterday, but they powered on through.

Our pre-show kitchen has been keeping everyone well-fed and happy. Nice, hot meals served yesterday to warm everyone up after the damp work day.

There have been some animal mishaps already. One of our volunteers had a gazebo tent that a cow got into and managed to ruin. Another had a squirrel break into his tent – it chewed 3 holes into it! And our 2nd in command in the kitchen has built a “cow wall” out of pallets around his campsite, because last year a cow literally chewed through his tent!

One of the volunteers we have working at Reception is a Shambhala Virgin, which must be a pretty awesome experience – to see the farm at it’s most raw, to meet all the organizers and lifers, and then she gets to see the incredible transformation it will go though. As someone who attended Shambhala as a ticket holder for my first 4 years, it’s hard for me to imagine what that would be like, but I bet it’d be pretty rad.

Stage volunteers begin to arrive today. A few Fractal folks, with more coming tomorrow and over the weekend. There are a couple people with the Labyrinth here. Pagoda will be here on the weekend. Village and Rock Pit crews arrive next week, possibly some Living Room folks too.

Our little community of workers is slowly growing, and as people arrive, some of whom we haven’t seen for a full year, the excitement and anticipation grows as well. There have been so many hugs and so much laughter this week; our yearly reunion of loved ones who come together to build this temporary city.

I wish I had pictures of all this. Normally I would – Little Miss Social Media that I am. But I’ve slipped back into some of my old Human Resources duties this week, helping get pre-show up and running. Hopefully next week I’ll be able to get back to documenting all this visually. ๐Ÿ™‚

For now – I hope my account of the current happenings on the farm have entertained you!

About Shambhala Music Festival

It's all about the people on the dancefloor.
This entry was posted in On The Road to Shambhala, Posts by Britz and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Shambhala Pre-Show: Week 1

  1. ScorpiusBlue says:

    *squeals* these updates are gonna make the excitement intensify even more as I bake and pack and tick off my list of everything I shall need ๐Ÿ˜€ see ya`ll in 18 days!

  2. Jupiter MaHoney says:

    this makes me so happy… I wish I could be apart of the pre-show work.. next year will be my 5th year, and will be my first volunteer year! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Stephanie Potoski says:

    This my first year ever going to shambhala and i am so excited i am going with my aunty and my cousin woo hooo!!!!!!! I will be there in 11

Leave a Reply

