New Beginnings Blog #1- Coming to Shambhala


Hey Shambhalovelies! We’ve got some guest blogs coming up this week, from different departments throughout the office. Last month, we decided to write blogs on the theme of “New Beginnings” – an appropriate theme for the first month of a new year. Now we’re ready to share with you! We hope you enjoy! =) ~ Britz

Coming to Shambhala

By Tee Haynes, Project Manager

Summer 2011:

“Ummm what are you doing with your life at the moment?”

“What kind of question is that?”

“Come out and work on Shambhala for a month.”

I sat on it for a week or so and initially I didn’t really give it much thought, but I found myself thinking more and more about my current place in the world.

Tee and Mike Brewer (not THE Mike Brewer but A Mike Brewer) take timeout during the Vancouver 2010 Winter Olympics

A little over a year earlier, Mike Brewer and I were wrapping up our work on the Vancouver 2010 Winter Olympics.  I hadn’t even heard of Shambhala and I had just had my passport returned to me in the mail with a freshly stamped working visa for the United Kingdom and I was thinking of becoming a ‘games gypsy’ (as they are referred to amongst themselves) and relocating from Vancouver to London to work on the 2012 Summer games.

I cannot recall what logic I applied to my decision, but a week later I was headed to the Kootenays in a ride share with two complete strangers, one a tanner who was tempted, on more than one occasion, to stop and pick up some roadkill and the other a stripper; two very different people that both sell skin for a living.

Some of the Site Team nourish themselves with a fantastic meal from the staff kitchen

I spent a month on site working with the site team and also worked as the food vendor coordinator during show.  I was blown away by the event in the same way that I imagine everyone else is at their first Shambhala.  A couple of weeks after the festival finished I returned to my life in Vancouver but my thoughts were never far from the Kootenays and if they were it wasn’t long before one of my new Shambhala friends gave me a holler or some Facebook love.

Tee and Mike Brewer work through some minor details

Recently I returned home to Australia for the first time in three years.  I found that most of the time in conversation with old friends wasn’t spent talking about my first time in snow, or my time with the Olympics or even about Canada but trying to describe the magic that is Shambala, neither words nor pictures nor video are ever enough.  The same could probably be said about the Kootenays and it’s people.

Naturally I was very excited to be approached by Shambhala to return in a full time capacity.  So ends the thought of returning to the Olympics but it wasn’t really too tough of a decision.

So I have just arrived in Nelson, I have never lived outside of a city, and until now, Vancouver is the closest to snow that I have lived in.  In the past twenty-four hours I have fallen over in the snow and ice twice and I am starting to think that skate shoes might not be the best moccasin for this climate.

(Welcome to the team & Nelson, Tee!!! ~Love from all the Office Farmily)

Bam Bam and Eric hanging out after completing the Basscamp dome

Tee and Mike Brewer preparing for a Site staff meeting

About Shambhala Music Festival

It's all about the people on the dancefloor.
This entry was posted in Get Involved, Posts by Tee and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to New Beginnings Blog #1- Coming to Shambhala

  1. Larry haines says:

    Ty for sharing 🙂 Special place

  2. Paul Magnuson says:

    Keep em coming!

  3. Nadia W. aka Nadzilla says:

    So wonderful! Last years experience as a volunteer was overwhelming at times for me. This feeling came from the amazing minds and personalities behind the festival. I felt so blessed and privileged to be a part of it even in such a small way. So great to hear the perspective of some of these great “minds and personalities”. In my shy nature I never really did interact with to many but was still left with such a wonderful impression from ALL and Tee was definitely one of the many that stood out! Much LOVE to the “FARMILY”

  4. I like what you guys are up too. This kind of clever work and
    exposure! Keep up the fantastic works guys I’ve included you guys to our blogroll.

Leave a Reply

