Zen at Shambhala


Beautiful post from the Shambhala Forums by forum-user, Rei. Enjoy! ~Britz

Zen at Shambhala ~ Photo by Charlotte Dobre, SMF Media Team 2012

Zen at Shambhala ~ Photo by Charlotte Dobre, SMF Media Team 2012

The idea of finding Zen at Shambhala may sound like a bit of an oxymoron.

If you’ve never been to Shambhala, the idea that you might find a few moments of zen and peace at a ‘rave’ where there’s loud music blaring constantly and people going crazy might leave you scratching your head or perhaps wondering if I’ve been smoking a little too much of the green.

Photo by Cody Puckett, SMF Media Team 2012

Photo by Cody Puckett, SMF Media Team 2012

I probably would have been wondering the same thing prior to having attended myself if I’d heard someone make such a statement.

This year however, will be my fifth year at Shambhala and I can honestly say that in all my 29 years, I’ve never even come close to experiencing the kind of energy and life changing/affirming/centering/enlightening moments that I’ve had every year I’ve attended this incredible festival.

Photo by Jesse Mazurick, SMF Media Team 2012

Photo by Jesse Mazurick, SMF Media Team 2012

So many incredible memories that I could go on and on about and I have talked to so many people who have had their lives and perspectives forever altered for the better after getting swept away by the magic there.

Photo by Craig Symonds, SMF Team 2012

Photo by Craig Symonds, SMF Team 2012

Something in the air perhaps, the energy, the absolute void of the normal societal structures and attitudes that people are generally blinded and preoccupied by back in their “real” lives.

Photo by Craig Symonds, SMF Media Team 2012

Photo by Craig Symonds, SMF Media Team 2012

Whatever it is, I just wanted to take a minute and express my appreciation for what makes Shambhala such an amazing experience for me and keeps me coming back every year.

Photo my Kate Dahlgren, SMF Media Team 2012

Photo my Kate Dahlgren, SMF Media Team 2012

Shambhala is absolutely a huge recharge time for me and even though I may be physically exhausted by the end of it, my soul and energy level is always elevated to soaring heights that keep me going throughout the rest of the year.

If you’ve never been, you owe it to yourself and your spirit to experience it at least once in your life. Just go, you’ll be so glad you did.

Photo by Louis Bockner, SMF Media Team 2012

Photo by Louis Bockner, SMF Media Team 2012

If you have been and can relate to this sentiment, please take a minute to share your own experiences of Zen at Shambhala so we can all be lifted up a little while we wait for the countdown to hit zero and we’re all once again back on the farm. Until then, much, much love to all of ya!

~Submitted by “Rei” on the Shambhala Forums

Photo by Louis Bockner, SMF Media Team 2012

Photo by Louis Bockner, SMF Media Team 2012

Photo by Leah Gair, SMF Media Team 2012

Photo by Leah Gair, SMF Media Team 2012

Beautiful Salmo River Ranch ~ Photo by Patrick Latter, SMF Media Team 2012

Beautiful Salmo River Ranch ~ Photo by Patrick Latter, SMF Media Team 2012

About Shambhala Music Festival

It's all about the people on the dancefloor.
This entry was posted in From Farmily, Posts by Britz and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Zen at Shambhala

  1. porter says:

    ZEN: sitting up on the hill with my buddy Preedy and new friends the Business Hippy, Thomas, and Gould watching the light show from Pagoda bouncing off the trees blowing our minds. OOHHhhhhhh the purrrrrple.. purrrrrrple hahahaah

  2. Crawford Macleay says:

    Shambhala saved my life! I was on a pretty rough path in my life before attending my first shamb in 07. I had limited experiences with substances and had addiction problems at the ripe old age of 18. I had no perspective for why a person would consume drugs other than to get really mangled. I had a very limited view of what a “rave” was and when one of my best friends suggested I come to shamb I was interested because I had heard that people just get high and listen to techno. Although there are drugs there, and I did use some substance while at my first Shambhala, it gave me a whole new idea of what was going on in my life. The love I felt from hundreds of complete strangers and the passion for music and dance that I’d never had before were shocking and wonderful. I was finally free of this shell I had lived in for so long and felt for the first time in my life free to express myself in ways I’d never have dreamed of before going to Shambhala. It truly changed me from being a lost scared little kid into the wonderful person that I feel I have become since. I have tried at every opportunity to share this feeling with my friends and family both on and off the farm. Spreading the shambhalove wave is a passion of mine and I feel like I’ve helped others to realize that life is so much more amazing than any of us can realize… My first glimpse of that amazing ness came at Shambhala and truly saved me from a pretty miserable existence.

  3. Brady says:

    So offensive that these white , soulless drug addicts use Buddhist and Hindu culture for their own means

    They would dare call their stupid little parties Hajj or Islam lol

    White people are disgusting twerps who always hijack Indian culture. Losers

  4. Rei says:

    What’s really offensive is to deny one the ability to embrace a concept that is inherently spiritual in nature based on cultural and racial arguments.. differences that in the grand scheme of things, mean absolutely nothing.

Leave a Reply

